Urgent Call to Action: Protest HB1873!

Representative Drew MacEwen is in support of vaping options for smokers and is looking for support from WA constituents who are opposed to HB1873, which brings up to a 240% wholesale tax on vapor products. This bill was passed in the late of night with no options for others to voice their thoughts on this bill.

CASAA has now helped make this easier. Follow this link - CASAA Call To Action

 

You can help protest HB1873 by sending an email to Drew MacEwen - he wants to come to Inslee and the media with all of our letters of opposal.


Include these points:

    • Include how vaping has changed your life
    • How HB1873 will harm your business
    • How HB1873 will harm your choice for alternatives to smoking

This bill will put many vape shops out of business. Consumers will buy online, go black market, or return to smoking. The lower tax on closed systems, like Juul, will mean convenience stores will still be selling ecigs. Youth get access easier in a c-store than a vape shop, meaning adults will vape less and youth will vape more. That is precisely the opposite of what should be happening.


HB1873 Data:


    • ($.09 tax on greater than 5mL of juice, $.27 tax on less than 5mL juice)
    • 60 mL juice costing $15 is now going to cost $20.40 (5.40 tax)
    • 120 mL juice costing $25 is now going to cost $35.80 (10.80 tax)
    • Pod 4 pack (2.8mL of juice)  $15 is now going to cost: $15.76 (.76 tax at retail)
    • Individual pod (.7 mL of juice) $5 is now going to cost: .19 tax = $5.19
    • This bill supports pod systems (juul) staying on the market and open tanks (less used by highschoolers) to be out.
    • This results in up to 240% wholesale tax on 120mL bottles (cigarettes and other tobacco products are 95%)

HB1873 can be found and read here:

https://legiscan.com/WA/text/HB1873/2019


Representative Drew MacEwen

drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7902

Additionally, here is a full list of the email addresses of all Representatives and Senators that voted yes on the bill to tax vaping. Feel free to add their email addresses to your letter.

House

Sherry.Appleton@leg.wa.gov,

Steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov,

Brian.Blake@leg.wa.gov,

Lisa.Callan@leg.wa.gov,

Bruce.Chandler@leg.wa.gov,

Mike.Chapman@leg.wa.gov,

Lauren.Davis@leg.wa.gov,

Beth.Doglio@leg.wa.gov,

Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov,

Debra.Entenman@leg.wa.gov,

Jake.Fey@leg.wa.gov,

Joe.Fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov,

Noel.Frame@leg.wa.gov,

Roger.Goodman@leg.wa.gov,

Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov,

Drew.Hansen@leg.wa.gov,

Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov,

Zack.Hudgins@leg.wa.gov,

Laurie.Jinkins@leg.wa.gov,

Christine.Kilduff@leg.wa.gov,

Debra.Lekanoff@leg.wa.gov,

John.Lovick@leg.wa.gov,

Nicole.Macri@leg.wa.gov,

Jared.Mead@leg.wa.gov,

Melanie.Morgan@leg.wa.gov,

Jeff.Morris@leg.wa.gov,

Timm.Ormsby@leg.wa.gov,

Lillian.Ortiz-Self@leg.wa.gov,

Tina.Orwall@leg.wa.gov,

Dave.Paul@leg.wa.gov,

Mike.Pellicciotti@leg.wa.gov,

Strom.Peterson@leg.wa.gov,

Eric.Pettigrew@leg.wa.gov,

Gerry.Pollet@leg.wa.gov,

Bill.Ramos@leg.wa.gov,

Kristine.Reeves@leg.wa.gov,

Marcus.Riccelli@leg.wa.gov,

June.Robinson@leg.wa.gov,

Cindy.Ryu@leg.wa.gov,

SharonTomiko.Santos@leg.wa.gov,

Mike.Sells@leg.wa.gov,

Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov,

Sharon.Shewmake@leg.wa.gov,

Vandana.Slatter@leg.wa.gov,

Norma.Smith@leg.wa.gov,

Larry.Springer@leg.wa.gov,

Derek.Stanford@leg.wa.gov,

Monica.Stonier@leg.wa.gov,

Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov,

Gael.Tarleton@leg.wa.gov,

My-Linh.Thai@leg.wa.gov,

Steve.Tharinger@leg.wa.gov,

Javier.Valdez@leg.wa.gov,

Amy.Walen@leg.wa.gov,

Sharon.Wylie@leg.wa.gov,

Frank.Chopp@leg.wa.gov,


Senate

Randi.Becker@leg.wa.gov,

Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov,

John.Braun@leg.wa.gov,

Reuven.Carlyle@leg.wa.gov,

Annette.Cleveland@leg.wa.gov,

Steve.Conway@leg.wa.gov,

J.Darneille@leg.wa.gov,

mona.das@leg.wa.gov,

Manka.Dhingra@leg.wa.gov,

phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov,

David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov,

Brad.Hawkins@leg.wa.gov,

Steve.Hobbs@leg.wa.gov,

Sam.Hunt@leg.wa.gov,

Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov,

Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov,

Patty.Kuderer@leg.wa.gov,

Marko.Liias@leg.wa.gov,

Liz.Lovelett@leg.wa.gov,

John.McCoy@leg.wa.gov,

Mark.Mullet@leg.wa.gov,

Joe.Nguyen@leg.wa.gov,

Guy.Palumbo@leg.wa.gov,

Jamie.Pedersen@leg.wa.gov,

Emily.Randall@leg.wa.gov,

Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov,

Rebecca.Saldana@leg.wa.gov,

Jesse.Salomon@leg.wa.gov,

Dean.Takko@leg.wa.gov,

Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov,

Keith.Wagoner@leg.wa.gov,

Jim.Walsh@leg.wa.gov,

Judith.Warnick@leg.wa.gov,

Lisa.Wellman@leg.wa.gov,

Claire.Wilson@leg.wa.gov





Subscribe